UPDATE: Opposition grows – 20 Senate Republicans pledge to reject single-party border “betrayal” bill, 29 have yet to declare their position – call your senators now! | The Gateway Expert

Source: Getty Images

A coalition of Senate Republicans has stood firmly against a controversial piece of legislation led by Sen. James Lankford (R-OK), which critics are now calling the “Invasion Authorization Act.”

The bill, developed in collaboration with Senators Krysten Sinema (I-AZ) and Chris Murphy (D-CT), sparked a firestorm of criticism from conservative ranks, as it failed to adequately secure the southern border of United States while allocating excessive funds abroad. help.

The $118.28 billion comprehensive national security supplemental package bill allocates a staggering $60.06 billion to Ukraine in response to military actions aggression by Russia.

In contrast, U.S. border security efforts are expected to receive $20.23 billion.

According to Democratic Senator Patty Murray, the $118.28 billion national security supplemental package includes:

  • $60.06 billion to support Ukraine in the fight against Putin’s bloody invasion and in protecting its people and sovereignty.
  • $14.1 billion in security assistance for Israel.
  • $2.44 billion to support U.S. Central Command operations and address combat expenses related to the Red Sea conflict.
  • $10 billion in humanitarian assistance to provide food, water, shelter, medical care and other essential services to civilians in Gaza, the West Bank, Ukraine and other populations affected by conflict zones around the world.
  • $4.83 billion to support key regional partners in the Indo-Pacific and deter aggression by the Chinese government.
  • $2.33 billion to continue supporting Ukrainians displaced by Putin’s war of aggression and other refugees fleeing persecution.
  • Bipartisan border policy changes negotiated by Senators Chris Murphy (D-CT), Kyrsten Sinema (I-AZ), and James Lankford (R-OK).
  • $20.23 billion to address existing operational needs and expand capabilities at our nation’s borders, fund new border policies included in the package, and help stop the flow of fentanyl and other narcotics.
  • THE Fentanyl Eradication and Narcotics Deterrence (FEND) in derogation from the Fentanyl Act.
  • $400 million for the Nonprofit Security Grant Program to help nonprofits and houses of worship improve security.

The invoice also:

  • If, over the course of a week, the average number of people showing up at the border without the right to enter is between 4,000 and 5,000 every day, the government may decide to use this special tool.
  • If the average number exceeds 5,000 people per day, then the government must use it.
  • Furthermore, if on a single day more than 8,500 people show up without permission, the government must immediately use this tool.
  • But there is one exception: Children who arrive alone at the border from countries that are not close to the United States do not count in these numbers.
  • The bill will also give immediate work authorization to “asylum seekers”

Senate Majority Leader Chuck Schumer (D-NY) issued an ultimatum, suggesting that failure to pass the bill could lead to American involvement in the war, a statement that was met with criticism, especially considering that the Ukraine is not a member of NATO and therefore not under the protection of the United States.

While RINO Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell reportedly supports the bill, a group of Republican senators steps forward in opposition, determined to block the “single-party bill.”

Below is the full list of Senators who have publicly pledged to oppose the bill via, so far, via Alex Bruesewitz:

  1. Senator Bill Hagerty (R-TN)
  2. Senator Eric Schmitt (R-MO)
  3. Senator J.D. Vance (R-OH)
  4. Sen. Jim Risch (R-ID)
  5. Senator Josh Hawley (R-MO)
  6. Senator Katie Boyd Britt (R-AL)
  7. Sen. Marco Rubio (R-FL)
  8. Senator Marsha Blackburn (R-TN)
  9. Senator Mike Lee (R-UT)
  10. Senator Mike Braun (R-IN)
  11. Senator Rand Paul (R-KY)
  12. Senator Rick Scott (R-FL)
  13. Senator Roger Marshall (R-KS)
  14. Senator Ron Johnson (R-WI)
  15. Sen. Steve Daines (R-MT)
  16. Senator Ted Cruz (R-TX)
  17. Senator Tom Cotton (R-AR)
  18. Senator Tommy Tuberville (R-AL)
  19. Senator Ted Budd (R-NC)
  20. You. Deb Fischer (R-NE)

Twenty-nine Republican senators did not publicly disavow the legislation, drawing attention and calling for action from their constituents. If you are concerned about the direction of this bill and its implications for border control and national sovereignty, it is critical to know where your representatives stand.

Below is a list of Republican senators who have yet to denounce the border betrayal bill, go Charlie Kirk:

  1. Lisa Murkowski (R-AK)
  2. Dan Sullivan (R-AK)
  3. John Boozman (R-AR)
  4. Mike Crapo (R-ID)
  5. Todd Young (R-IN)
  6. Chuck Grassley (R-IA)
  7. Joni Ernst (R-IA)
  8. Jerry Moran (R-KS)
  9. Mitch McConnell (R-KY)
  10. Bill Cassidy (R-LA)
  11. John Kennedy (R-LA)
  12. Susan Collins (RM-ME)
  13. Roger Wicker (R-MS)
  14. Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-MS)
  15. Pete Ricketts (R-NE)
  16. Thom Tillis (R-NC)
  17. John Hoeven (R-ND)
  18. Kevin Cramer (R-ND)
  19. Markwayne Mullin (R-OK)
  20. James Lankford (R-OK)
  21. Lindsey Graham (R-SC)
  22. Tim Scott (R-SC)
  23. John Thune (R-SD)
  24. Mike Rounds (R-SD)
  25. John Cornyn (R-TX)
  26. Mitt Romney (R-UT)
  27. Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV)
  28. John Barrasso (R-World Championship)
  29. Cynthia Lummis (R-WY)

The stakes are high and the need for decisive action is clear. With 41 votes needed to effectively eliminate the “Invasion Authorization Act,” each senator’s position cannot be overstated.

Constituents are encouraged to contact their senators using the contact information available on official Senate websites or through advocacy platforms. Click here.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *